Fox in Progress – Day 2

This is Day 2 of the fox-in-progress since I actually started on it yesterday… it is knit in several different pieces – arms, legs, tail, ears, body, head. Starting with the body, at the neckline.

Once all the pieces are knit, they are sewn up and stuffed to perfection. And from there, placement to the body begins! But we have a ways to go before then….

Step 1 is to make sure you have all of the necessary yarn, notions, and most definitely the adorable pattern.

I love my Knit Picks 4″ double points, but since this toy will have a lot of stitches on the needles while in-the-making, I’ll have to use my longer aluminum needles for now.

Since I am using fingering weight yarn, I have decided to use US Size 0 (2.0mm) knitting needles. I use double points, even though the pattern is worked back and forth on the needles.

The pattern suggests to make a small separate ball of yarn from Color A (in this case, grey) so you don’t have to carry it across the back when switching to and from Color B (cream). Since I already have 2 balls of the same color grey, I just used both of them instead of making a separate smaller one.

Step 2: Cast On!

When using multiple balls or skeins, it’s very important to avoid catastrophe by rearranging the position of each one as you knit with them, so as to avoid knots and tangles!

And this is as far as I have knitted as of yet… 🙂

Thanks for stopping in today!

Leave a message: